eXTReMe Tracker

13 July 2008

many events:uaap season 71 (UP vs UST),book launch at ayala museum/shangrila mall, palanca awards judging, u.k.pinoys reunion, u.p.icw parties

uaap season 71:
u.p. vs u.s.t.
( philippine sports arena-pasig, 12 july 2008)

coach salvador antonio (aboy) castro, assistant coach jerry codinera, assistant coach potit de vera with members of the u.p. fighting maroons men's basketball team, including students from my creative writing (cw 10) and introduction to southeast asia (sea 30) classes: michael joseph (mike) gamboa, woodward (woody) co, miguel antonio (migz) de asis, don carlo (don) fortu, dionisio hipolito iii, and mark anthony lopez. the other members of the team include jay agbayani (team captain), kevin astorga, arvin braganza, czarlo de la victoria, francis maniego, andrew marfori, ron pajela, martin reyes, magi sison and paul sorongon.
all in the family: former unesco official lucille custodio ascalon, andre gregorio ascalon, u.p. mass comm alumna / corporate communication expert cecilia gregorio ascalon (wife of jaime ramon torre ascalon, the outgoing vice consul and third secretary of the philippine embassy in brunei), retired u.p. vice president for administration / european languages professor martin gregorio
alumni sisters: u.p. college of arts and letters/ metrobank outstanding teacher awardee priscelina patajo legasto and u.p. law alumna lorna patajo kapunan
u.p. journalism major trish duque does the anchoring for abs-cbn's studio 23

pinoy-u.k. (association of u.k.alumni from the philippines) reunion
(11 july 2008, saisaki-glorietta 3, makati)

(l-r, standing) edna pana (queen mary, university of london), presidential management staff assistant secretary ferdinand cui jr. (london school of economics), fe abogadie (university college london); (l-r, seated), grace baretto-tesoro (cambridge), u.p. avp for development jaime caro (oxford) and jose wendell capili (cambridge); photo credit: archie tesoro (cambridge)
(l-r) dodge dillague (goldsmiths, university of london), jaime caro (oxford), fe abogadie (university college london), mahar lagmay (cambridge) and jose wendell capili (cambridge)
book launch:
the legend of mandaluyong by patrick alain azanza,

edited by national artist for literature virgilio s. almario and jose wendell capili
(11 july 2008, shangrila edsa mall)
crowd at the shang
backstage: taking a break from emceeing, as patrick alain azanza delivers his thank you speech
(l-r) prizewinning fictionist efren abueg, patrick alain azanza, former u.p. system university secretary / u.p. arts and letters dean vivencio jose, retired u.p. professor consolacion rustia alaras and jose wendell capili
mandaluyong city major benhur abalos
cultural center of the philippines president nestor jardin
douglas nierras' powerdance
memorandum of agreement:
signing for the revival of the dulaang u.p. mobile theater
(10 july 2008, u.p. college of arts and letters)

(l-r, standing): teresa paula sangil-de luna, s. anril pineda tiatco, fabiola ortiz, jose wendell capili, dean and national artist virgilio s. almario, dulaang u.p. co-artistic director alexander cortes, johannah bautista, manuel casalan, edna may landicho and niel kenneth jamandre;
(l-r, seated): belen calingacion and buy&sell magazine group of companies CEO / u.p. engineering alumnus ignacio gimenez
book launch:
si lupito at ang barrio sirkero
written by rowald almazar
art works by jose (john) santos iii
translated and edited by john jack wigley and jose wendell capili
(8 july 2008, ayala museum)
(l-r) with prizewinning visual artists jose (john) santos iii, pamela yan-santos, jesus lozada and leo abaya
melissa salva ramos (with baby lucas, hidden), carla pacis, a friend, and jeric ramos
2008 carlos palanca awards for literature judging
(1 july 2008, little asia-tomas morato)
with ralph semino galan of the university of santo tomas (L) and dr. benilda s. santos of the ateneo de manila university (R), and palanca awards representatives mon and nemie bermejo (3rd and 4th from the left)
u.p. institute of creative writing merienda for vim nadera, butch dalisay, joi barrios and anton juan
(30 june 2008, u.p. institute of creative writing)
prizewinning writers gemino abad, butch dalisay (u.p. institute of creative writing director), joi barrios, marnie kilates, charlson ong, anton juan, virgilio s. almario (u.p. arts and letters dean / national artist for literature), joey baquiran, cristina pantoja hidalgo and vim naderajoi barrios and rosario torres yu (former u.p. diliman vice chancellor for student affairs / arts and letters dean)

the u.p. pep squad

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home