eXTReMe Tracker

29 July 2009

President GMA names seven new Philippine National Artists by TJ Burgonio, Philippine Daily Inquirer

MANILA, Philippines – President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo has named seven National Artists for this year, including one of her advisers and pioneers in fashion design and local comic books, Malacañang said.

This years Order of National Artists roster, according to Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita, include: National Commission on Culture and the Arts executive director Cecille Guidote Alvarez for theater; Manuel Urbano, also known as Manuel Conde, for film and broadcast arts (posthumous); Lazaro Franciso, literature (posthumous); Federico Aguilar Alcuaz, visual arts, painting, sculpture and mixed media; Magno Jose Carlo Caparas, visual arts and film; Francisco “Bobby” Mañoza, architecture; and Jose “Pitoy” Moreno, fashion design.




Anonymous Anonymous said...

Cecille Alvarez and Carlo J. Caparas "National Artist?"

That's rubbish! Alvarez heads NCCA. Caparas' works (who by the way doesn't really draw) are no better than MARS RAVELO's, TONY VELAZQUEZ and FRANCISCO V. COCHING, the three komiks writers AND illustrators who should have been National Artists before. The Philippines' komiks circle are disappointed!


Thu Jul 30, 08:28:00 AM 2009  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home